Creating and Editing your Templates and Instructions

This article explains how Template Owners can create and edit templates and instructions for their organisation.
Written by Harriet Robb
Updated 1 day ago

Both templates and instructions can be edited directly by Template Owners. Template Owners have increased privileges to set these for all users in an organisation. If you're unsure who holds these privileges, contact Rico Support.

To edit the templates or instructions set within any step of your workflow, navigate to Settings > Templates, select the workflow that houses the templates or instructions you'd like to edit, then navigate to the specific step. You'll be presented with the following screen:


Templates

You can edit an existing template or add a New Template.

All templates can be renamed by writing over the existing template title. By default, templates are named 'Default Template'.

You can load as many templates on a given step as you like.

Some tips to help you along the way:

  • Use the toolbar (highlighted below) to help with your formatting when creating and editing templates.
  • Build your templates in a test project, then copy and paste them directly into your template library. This is particularly helpful if you'd like to view the template headings and formatting in the 'Review' tab before formalising changes.
  • Always start at Heading Level 1 when formatting your templates with headings. Rico automatically adjusts headings to the correct level for your report section.
  • Updates made in your template library will not retrospectively update any projects. Updated templates apply to new projects, or to projects that haven't yet applied a template in that step.

 

Instructions:

Instructions can be edited on this same screen. Select the edit icon on the right-hand side to insert new instructions or edit existing ones. As with templates, you can format instructions using the toolbar once editing is enabled.

Saving your changes:

Always save your work after editing templates or instructions. Ask users in your organisation to refresh Rico to pull the update through — otherwise, the changes will apply when they next log in.

Did this answer your question?